For our most recent news releases please select the news tab. For media enquiries please contact HITRANS on 01463 719002 or email

<  Previous story   |   Main headlines   |   Next story  >

6/28/2022 - Senior Comhairle nan Eilean Siar Councillor is elected Chairman of HITRANS



HITRANS, the regional transport partnership for the Highlands and Islands, has a new chair.  He is Councillor Uisdean Robertson, Chair of Comhairle nan Eilean Siar’s  Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. He takes over at the helm from Highland Councillor Allan Henderson, Lochaber, who did not seek re-election at the recent Council elections.


Councillor Robertson,  who is serving a fourth term as a councillor and had served on the HITRANS Board for the past five years,  is an Independent Ward Member for Uibhist A Tuath.


He was elected chair unopposed at a meeting of the HITRANS Partnership Board at Inverness on Friday 24 June.


Elected Vice-Chair is Councillor Amber Dunbar, Vice-chair of Moray Council’s Economic Development and Infrastructure Services Committee.  Ms Dunbar is a member of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party and is Ward Councillor for Elgin City North.


Councillor Robertson said it was an honour to serve as Chair of HITRANS.


He said: “Over the years, HITRANS has established itself as a highly effective partnership supporting sustainable economic growth across the Highlands and Islands. We have a committed Partnership Board, supported by highly effective officials who share a commitment to support active communities and maintain and improve lifeline transport networks and services, such as ferry services which are so dear to my heart.”


A key element of the work of HITRANS he said is to produce and keep up to date a Regional Transport Strategy, which captures the projects that can improve the transport of the region.

Councillor Dunbar is new to local government but is keen to make her mark, both in her local community and the wider Highlands.

She said: ”Promoting active travel and developing effective and sustainable transport services, such as on-demand community travel, are so important in Moray and indeed throughout the Highlands and I am greatly looking forward to playing my part in securing much needed funding to deliver our priorities.”

Other Councillor representatives on HITRANS Board are Councillor Ken Gowans, The Highland Council’s Chair of Economy and Infrastrsucture Committee; Councillor David Dawson, Orkney Island Council’s Chair of Development and Infrastructure; and Councillor Andrew Kain, Argyll and Bute Council’s policy lead for roads.

Non Council members on the Partnership are: Robert Andrew, Professor David Gray and Naomi Bremner.




Photo caption:  New HITRANS chair Councillor Uisdean Robertson (right) is pictured with his vice-chair Councillor Amber Dunbar and HITRANS Director, Ranald Robertson

<  Previous story   |   Main headlines   |   Next story  >